One man band - Trying to mix your own vocals

fabkebab1

I wonder if there is anyone else out there who has some decent tips - Because I am a one man band, I have to make my own mixdowns, and always end up getting the vocal part wrong -

1) Its too quiet - (I cringe about my own voice and turn it down too much)

2) Its too loud - (I over-compensate for (1))

3 ) The tone is horrible (Tired of hearing my own voice a zillion times, I start trying to make it sound different, which usually means I play with the EQ till I end up with something awful which seems good at the time)

4 ) I put way too much reverb on, or not enough.

Anwyay I am sure there are a lot of you in similar positions who have already overcome this achille's heel? If so do you have any tips?

thanks

Welcome to the joy of recording yourself. Its one of the great reasons for working with a producer or outside engineer. I have been a professional mixer/producer for a 14 years and mixed thousands of tracks, but still if its my part I get whigged out and nervous about it (I play on lots of the records I produce). The best thing you can do is get some CDs that you love the sound of and try and mix your vocals to match that. just stay the course and try and get your vox as close to the commercial CD as possible.