Old dog, New tricks

Louddog

I have been playing drums for over thirty years. I have always played single bass. I bought a new set about 2 years ago and got a double bass pedal with it. I just can't get it. I practice and practice and just cannot get speed. I am not really looking for technique advice or what pedal might be better (although some would be ok), I really just want to hear a sucess story! Anyone out there over 40 that learned to get those blazing feet I hear on the current metal stuff? I also play guitar and belive the same thing is true. All the speed stuff is developed early, between ages 10-20. I have had several friends pick up a guitar after the age of 25 and they never develop speed. I am no faster on guitar or drums than I was 25 years ago. I am better, just not faster. Somebody out there tell me they started to shred (hands and feet) after the age of thirty!

Doug

Woof!

I grew up on single pedals too. I set up lefty, so it wasn't easy finding a lefty bass drum pedal. I finally bought one in 2000, and ran into a similar speed block as you described. Here's how I overcame my block:

First do this: grab a pen and write down what you want to do. Now put the pen in your other hand and try to write the same thing. Not easy, is it? Pretty sloppy too? If you try writing REALLY slow, you might be able to do it better. This is just to get you thinking about what you're trying do with double bass.

-The trick to overcoming the speed block is to re-learn what you already think you know. Double pedals require you to readjust your seating -- including how far you spread your legs, seat height, distance from the pedals, etc. You really need to experiment. Since you've been conditioned to sit a certain way, you need to get used to a new way of sitting.