Oktava at a redicuously low price.... the catch?

lost studios

Hey fellas...

I have no experience with Oktava mics, but remember hearing that they had some quality control issues...

I just received a guitar center brochure and they are advertising that they are selling the Oktava MKL2500 Large Diahpragm Tube Condeser (list:$999.00) for $199.99.

And even better...(or questionable), if you buy MKL2500, you get an Oktava MK319 Studio Condeser (list:$599.99) for free!

What's the catch here fellas... because I'm awful tempted! :D

Jay

I don't know about the 2500 (do a search here - I think some have bought them), but the 319 is not a bad mic. However, it sells for $50 on sale, so don't think you're getting a $600 mic for free.
See what the return policy is - maybe you can return the 2500 for a complete refund and keep the 319. :)

MKL2500.
M=Mikrophon
K=Kondensatorniy (Condenser)
L=Lampochniy (Tube)

Once I asked Elizabeth Papapertrou of Sound-Room (when she was alive) about those and why they don't stock them. She answered that it had badly and chaply designed PSU. I have never had chance to look or listen to those.

chessrock said:
What's the catch?

They're shitty mics that sound like crap.

lOL...
That's what I figured. I've never had any experience with them to date... and remember hearing from someone that they were decent mics.

I appreciate your blunt sarcasm. :D

Point taken.
ls

Here's some information from a German online store:

Oktava MKL 2500 Tube microphone with gold sputtered 33mm cardioid capsule , Frequency response 20hz to 20kHz, Sensitivity 13mV/Pa , Max SPL @ 1kHz > 135dB .

http://www.netzmarkt.de/thomann/thoiw2_artikel-165094.html

(english language)

The most interesting thing about it, I'd say, is the very large capsule.