Oktava 219

Modus

Zaireeka!
I just got my Guitar Center cataloge thingy and it has the Oktava 219 listed on sale for $69.99. Is this a really good deal? (says save up to $439)

So if this is a really good deal my next question would be; what is this mic good or bad for? Good for vocals, bad for paino or whatever. I'm planning on buying a pair of 012's mainly for acoustic guitar and I don't know what kind of mic I'm going to get for vocals besides the 012's (eventually i will have many mics, but right now im just starting out buying equiptment for recording and learning on) So is this a really good deal and what do you use this mic for?

Thanks

Thats a lot less than the $199 I paid some time back.

It was my first 'good' recording mic and I used for just about everything. Though you're going to like the 012's a lot more, the 219 has it's uses. It doesn't have the highs of most other LD condensers, but that can be a good thing. I use mine on acoustic instruments that seem to record too crisp like the autoharp, dulcimer and banjo, and sometimes when I want to de-ess a vocal.

Thats a lot less than the $199 I paid some time back.

It was my first 'good' recording mic and I used for just about everything. Though you're going to like the 012's a lot more, the 219 has it's uses. It doesn't have the highs of most other LD condensers, but that can be a good thing. I use mine on acoustic instruments that seem to record too crisp like the autoharp, dulcimer and banjo, and sometimes when I want to de-ess a vocal.

depends

The last deal I saw on them was $99 ea or 2 for $149 at Musician's Fiend.

That could be a good deal, depending on the quality. From what I have read in this BBS, Oktava has poor Quality Control, and apparently Guitar Center doesn't spec them. You could be getting a perfectly good mic or a terrible sounding mic.

Also, there are some mods you can do to make the mic sound better. Just do a search on Oktava Mod.

I have a MK219, and it works well for me.