OK so I'm new at this....really new

joe mama

Ok, I got a Mackie Onyx 1220 WITH the firewire option and hooked it up. I figured it would be pretty strightforward on how to use it, but to be totally honest, I am at a loss. I've done a lot of reading, so I know a lot of things about it all except this: HOW DO I PUT SOUND THROUGH IT?!?! I have hooked up guitars to the first channel "Hi-Z" input and see nothing when I play. Guitar is on, cable is operational. I have also tried connecting a keyboard and even a karaoke microphone with a 1/4" output, withouth seeing a single light light up on the thing. I have plugged headphones into the phones jack to ensure that there is no sound. So, I will simply restate the main question of this post: HOW DO I PUT SOUND THROUGH THIS MIXER?!?! Thanks.

PS - Yes, I do feel very stupid for having to post this.

First, turn on the power...

;) :D

Assuming your going to plug your instrument into channel 1:

1. Turn the "trim" or "input" (however it's labeled) dial at the top of channel 1 all the way down (to the left.).

2. Move channel 1's fader (the slider at the bottom of the channel strip) until it's set to "unity gain" (the "zero" level about 2/3 or 3/4 of the way up the slider.)

3. Plug in your instruemnt.

4. Turn off the "mute" button on channel 1.

5. Start turning up the "trim" control for channel 1 until the green level light on channel 1 starts flashing, but not so high where it's always on and/or the "OL" or "overload" or "clip" light next to it also lights up.

At this point you have sound coming in through your channel strip at a rough but close volume level. The instructions that follow after this are dependant in their specifics as to how the buttons are laid out on that particular mixer, but in general: