Odd speakers.

Dj17

Lame post ahead. You've been warned. But don't be afraid to read. You are free to laugh at my expense.

I needed a soundcard, a mixer, and speakers.

I'm getting an Audiophile 2496, a Yamaha MG10/2 and for the speakers, I had no idea.

I'm a student and I'm low on money. I hope you know what I mean.

I still have a lot of things to buy considering my projects. I know what I need, I have a *great* computer. But my main concern at the moment is to *get some sound* out of the whole system. I know I could buy some cheap speakers, but it sounds like a waste of money since I probably won't use them ever again once I buy monitors.

I already own a few devices that could serve as speakers.

- Ugly, cheap sounding desktop computer speakers.
- Broken down, old school headphones. They probably were decent circa 1974.

But there's something far more intriguing in the corner of my room. I've always used that as an amp for mics and guitars while practicing at a relatively low volume with my band. That's what we were sold, at the store, when we were 15. But what kind of expertise could we really have at 15?

Anyway. Here's a description of the mysterious device. Tell me if I can manage to use it as a monitoring device. Maybe. Maybe not. I wouldn't know.

Name: Audiochoice QM4 by Soundtech - Made in China (no doubt).

It has 3 pieces: 2 speakers and some kind of amp.

Each speaker has: One 1/4 input, 8" woofers and over it there's what appears to be a tweeter. There some unknown hole below the woofer, and I have no idea what use it has. Anyway, That is all.

The amp has: 4-channels (each channel has a 1/4 output for guitars, an XLR input for mics and 3 knobs: gain/tone/reverb.) On the right there's an eq with low-mid-high, a level knob, a reverb knob, and the following input/outputs (I have no idea which they are. I lost the manual long ago): "footswitch", "send", "return" and "lineout".