odd latency problem?

jimmychan

if running cubase SX with a soundblaster live (yeah, I know it's crappy). using the built in directX full duplex driver setting in SX, the sync is lost after about 30 sec when recording audio live to harddrive, even with only a MIDI click track running. the multimedia driver works ok, but obviously has high latency. that's ok for just recording to midi clicks. however, the recorded audio is badly out of sync when played back - i thought Cubase adjusted for latencies for audio playback - shouldn't recorded audio be automatically lined up? have i set something up wrong? or do i just have to constantly go through and realign the audio segments?

I'm using VST 3.7 with an SB live soundcard, and seem to be having a similar problem. Whenever I play something live, the program doesn't seem to pick it up until a few ms later. This can clearly be seen on the input bar in the EQ window.

I'm pretty new to this thing, and would greatly appreciate any help given.

AFAIK Soundblaster cards work strictly at a sample rate of 48khz. Cubase typically defaults to 44.1khz. This discrepancy can cause no end of pesky events. Change the settings in Cubase so that you are working at 48khz, and that should solve it.

Chris

Cubase SX is a big jump over the old VST's however latency is still a problem. With VST/32 I used to not only SEE the audio milliseconds later, but also HEAR it milliseconds later too. With SX though, I can hear the audio at the same time its being recorded. However, latency is all due to your computer. The soundcard is a big link in the latency issue. Upgrading your soundcard will improve your latency time, but will not make it go away. I too have this same problem, and Ive put up with having to line the audio up after every record. It IS a pain, but you get used to it. . . . . .eventually. . . . .and it becomes ever so slightly easier.