oak trim endcap

undergroundtoon

I have my new console just about done. I need an OAK(to match the rest of the desk) cap for the front. I tried looking up half rounds? but the biggest i could find was 2 1/2 in. and i need a 5 in.

....I have tried menards, lowes, and other wood shops around with no luck. I looked on the hand rail sectiontoo. Got a name for this? a website? I would search but i dont have a clue what key words to use.

Here is a couple of pics to better show what i need.

oaktrim22.jpg

oaktrim2.jpg

Last edited:
Look around for a local Trim manufacturing company - there is always somebody around that does this. It might cost you a little, but you can have this made.
Actually, the part that will cost you is having the blades made for the milling machine, but just out of chance - you might luck out.

It shouldn't be super expensive though.

I worked as a Cabinet maker for years, and it isn't uncommon to find regional trim manufacturers that do custom work.

Actually, now that I looked at it again, if you go to a CUSTOM Cabinet shop, they should be able to make that for you with no problem. They would have to glue up stock if they can't get it in the size you want, and then route and sand it.

Tim

Find an incredibly large witch, distract her, and when she isn't looking, steal her broom
Brilliant.:rolleyes: I bet your rep will still be ZERO in five years.

Tims suggestion is about as good as it gets in regards to a Oak half round. However, the shop would have to have a shaper knife with a 5" half round profile, or a 2 1/2" quarter round. In either case, laying up this size profile won't be cheap, nor will the machining, even if they have the knives.

Another way is to get a piece of 5" PVC pipe, have it ripped in half lengthwise. Then cut a 3/4" ply insert to match the inside diameter profile, drill the PVC for screws and attatch the ply to the PVC. This makes an attatchment backer. Then veneer the PVC 1/2 round with oak veneer.