No idea what I'm doing... Help please?

humjaba

Mumford & Sons cover... first time, need help

Hey guys

So I recorded this over the course of a couple nights... First time doing this, and I have no idea where to start. All I've done to this is adjust some levels, added some reverb to the guitar in the middle, hit "normalize" and that's it. I used Cubase LE for everything, then exported a WAV and converted to MP3 after normalizing in Audacity.

Like I said, no idea where to go, but it doesn't sound quite right.
Help? Thanks.
View attachment awake my soul.mp3

Edit: Song is Awake My Soul by Mumford and Sons. I'm not much of a writer, and this song's been stuck in my head for a while so I decided to try and cover it.

Last edited:
First off...I have to say.... Im not a pro at this recording stuff...Im here to listen and learn..I still havent even posted anything of mine yet!!! But...........to me..........The bottom end is muddy to my ears...needs more definition...how to get it? Im not sure but Im sure someone here could tell you.
The drums seem to be the weakest part...????
Do I hear some type of pitch corection on the vocal?...If so..sounds like your a good enough singer to lose it.
I dont think your too far away though!

Yeah, it sounds to me like it needs to be a bit more defined as well, but I don't know how to get there. Something to do with the eq's no doubt, but I don't know how to use them to sound better (though it's easy to make it sound worse).

And I am using pitch correction a bit, but only during the faster chorus on "awaaaaaaaaaake" (I can't hold a note that long without wavering a bit yet). The parts that sound corrected (the bridge ~1:30) actually aren't, it's just the way my voice decided to sound at that point. I noticed that too, when I was listening back to the recording. Funny how that happens sometimes :(
The piano, drums and bass are stock sounds off my Yamaha PSR-500.