Night and Day Difference

dreamsound2

Hi guys,

Some of you might remember that I posted a pre-production here three weeks ago of a song called 'Bye Bye' and a lot of you gave me a lot of criticism and feedback. So here is the old version (makes me cringe to listen to it now) :

I decided to apply your criticism/feedback and decided to completely re-do the whole song (I'm extremely stubborn) . I had a session drummer (instead of myself, I'm obviously no drummer) to record the drums in a really nice recording room. Added tons of new guitars, re-recorded the acoustics with different mics, practiced the hell out of the harmonies and the key I was playing in before recording. I also recorded everything 'dry' - no compression, no reverb, no delays. I ended up changing all the lyrics. Finally, I got a pro mix/master engineer to mix/master the final project.

Keep in mind everything except the drums was recorded at home.

Here's the new version:

Enjoy!

I think it sounds really great. Nice job. I guess that was some kind of learning experience for ya, huh? Looks like your stubbornness paid off--you stubbornly wanted it to sound good, so you started over! Some folks would stubbornly keep doing it the old way hoping for different results.

Congrats!

(BTW--obviously, there are lots of improvements in the second mix but the one thing that made the most difference to me was the drums. Good drums are so often the line in the sand between amateur sounding stuff and pro sounding stuff.)

First off, the second is better. Second, is this the punch line? That you're actually really good? I am actually starting to believe the whole Andy Kaufman type theory people were having. But, if this is really the result of you taking the advise of others, and working hard (since I haven't seen you post in a while) then congratulations. This is really very good. Though may I ask why it is on another singers website? In any case, good.

-Adam.