Newbie Resources: Recommend Books / Materials

BORNintoMUSIC

Wassup people!

I've been an amateur audio engineer for the past 2 years. Recording my band primarily, and then a few small things in between. I've learned a TON about engineering but yet I am still so far away from creating a "quality" mix.

I came to these forums based on a review pertaining to Charles Dye - Mix it like a record. It got a great review from the gentlemen that purchased it and from a quite a number of people on the internet - so I'm probably going to purchase it.

Can anyone recommend good materials for beginning to intermediate level engineers? Perhaps even some delving into the realm of "expert/professional"?

I've heard this is an excellent book:

http://www.mixingwithyourmind.com/

but dives into the professional realm - on top of that from a philosophical perspective. Has anyone read this book?

Thanks in advanced!

Brandon

When I was where you are now, I started collecting the books. I read 'em. Learned a few things, mostly got frustrated with 'em......collecting dust now.

Best advice I got during that same period:

1-[from a gold record producer] "Record something every day, and in a few years you'll know everything you need to know."

2- [from a film/audio instructor at a recording school...when I considered $30,000/year tuition to go there] "Save your money: make recordings and play with them...just play....that's how you learn."

I pass it along to you.

Get your books from the library...free...and you can return 'em when you discover how little help they are...without someone to explain and demonstrate the content and language of the digital dirty-talk. Law and physics books are easier to understand.