Newbie: Moving into the world of Pro Tools

Redtortoise39

This is quite a vague question (since I've never used any music recording software before). I want to get into Pro Tools but dont have the slightest clue where to begin. I would like to purchase software that I can build upon (and not have to keep buying new versions constantly), while possibly buying some instructional material as well. I know I've left this very broad, but any help would be appreciated.

ProTools has moved (for the latest version) to a subscription service - you have to pay for a license and updates on a regular basis.

Are you set on ProTools for a particular reason, or just because you heard 'that's what everyone uses'?

Take a look at Reaper - free to download the full version, $60 to register it - which is good for two full version changes (not just the periodic updates). There is an extensive user manual, a user help forum and a ton of videos available.

For starters, thanks for the feedback. I am not set on purchasing ProTools, I just want the most bang for the buck (Features/compatibility etc.). I'm just looking for something quality, that I can stick with and grow with. At the same time, something reputable with tons of learning resources available. Nothing generic, just a program with tons of features combined with a fairly easy learning curve.

I would not put the Poo tools noose around your neck, there are plenty of software packages out there for a lot cheaper price, reaper as suggested above.

Alan.

I think that Mike gave you the answer to all of what you just said. I've been a Reason user for 8 years now, but I'm learning Reaper because it is everything you asked for: quality, bang for the buck, reputable, tons of learning resources, more features than you'll ever learn to use....