NEWBIE - mixing mics into a usb output

billyqureshi

hi - apologies im not knowledgeable in this area. Im an NHS doctor and we are having to do alot of large meetings with 20 or so people in a lecture theatre (one speaker at a time) and 50-60 at home.
currently, i have one USB wireless handheld mic (samsom xpd2). It works great. the problem i have is when those in the audience with to speak - we have to carry the mic up to them and then back to the speaker podium.
We cannot link up a second laptop into the teleconference app as then whatever is input into that device comes out the PA system hooked up to the speakers podium computer.
I have bought a second samson xpd2 as i read i can use 2 simultaneously on a mac using MIDI app to create an aggregate device. However, i cannot get the aggregate device to actually combine both mics - only one of the two are working. ( i havent tried with any professional audio recording software, just the teleconferencing app).
I understand there are some windows applicaitions that might be able to create aggregate devices, but my personal laptop is a mac and my NHS laptop is windows but very locked down and will be a nightmare to get IT to test and approve something to be installed on it.
I am now looking at the possibility of finding something (?a mixer) that will allow me to plug in two mics, and will give me a single mixed output. the inputs can either be USB, or they can be 3.5 mm as the samson mics have a line out on the usb receivers.
the output of the mic would preferably be USB as i can use that on any computer/laptop. a 3.5mm would be acceptable if thats all that available.
this is for amateur use so i dont want to spend alot - no more than £75-100. Its only going to be used for speech so doesnt have to be fancy.
Id appreciate any help or advice !

Hi there,
You've outlined the main limitation of USB microphones there.