Newbie looking for some feedback

peugotpigeon

Hey there. I'm new to this whole clinic thing but it looked interesting so I thought I'd give it a try. I recorded an album length demo about five months ago in my brother's amateur studio before moving up to Boston. It was my first time using ProTools and recording so I was just wondering what you all thought. I've already gotten the opinion of my family and friends and I was lookng for something a little more objective.

The setup was a G4 running ProTools LE and I recorded using a Neumann TLM 103 (my brother's). There're a lot of layered acoustic guitars, sometimes distorted through a Sans Amp to give them a little punch... as a result the mix is a bit muddy, but I was really rushed and was doing everything by myself and basically didn't EQ anything at all. I'm just wondering what you all think overall and with respect to the songwriting.

Any feedback would be much appreciated.

A handful of the songs are here:

http://lostpilot.com/old/FiftyMissionCrush.html

My roommate put them up on his band's website so if you want to check out his band along the way just visit lostpilot.com

Thanks.

I too am new to the forum, but as I listened to the song "That Girl" I wanted to hear the vocals a little more, it seemed to get better throughout the song (I don't know if it's just cause I got used to it), but I think they could come up a bit.

I also agree with you that it seems a bit muddy....however, that's where my knowledge of clearing that up ends. I swear my posts will become more intelligent in the future :)

Hey pigeon. Welcome.

I listened to I Will. Nice pretty song. I liked the idea of the piano part. Worked well.

The vocals lack a little presence. Sound a bit muffled. They're getting covered by the guitar, and to a lesser extent by the piano.

I think the guitars could have some of the lows rolled off (maybe up to 200hz or a bit higher) and help out.