Newbie info needed

imecho40

Hello,
I'm new to the homerecording scene,and am looking for some basic information. I want to rip some vinyl Lp's to cd's and need a little guidance.
I have an antiquated analog stereo system.It has a phonograph,small (cheapy) equalizer,tape deck,etc. I would like to connect this to my Line-in connection on my sound card,and use a program like Easy Cd to rip the songs.My only connection options are the headphone jack,or the two speaker jacks.Would either of these options be better than the other? I figure that my local Radio Shack with be able to supply me with some type of patch cable to do this task...Thanks for any info:)

I would say that you could try the headphone out to your line in. Buy a conector... and try it.

Riku

Thanks for the replies. I guess I should have used the search option. I read the threads,but didn't see any info about using the headphone jack.I am not sure why this wouldn't be a visable option????

Personally, I would use the speaker line out's on your phono player and send those directly to your line-ins to your computer. Hit record on your comp and spin your vinyl. You may want to pause recording between each song so that it doesn't become one great big wav file.

or try both ways and see which one is better:D
I've used my MD headphones out to transfer tracks to my computer for further processing and that has worked fine...

Riku

My advice is do _not_ use the speaker outs on the hifi - speaker connections carry a hefty current as they have to drive the speaker cones Connecting this amount of power output to an electrostatically sensitive piece of equipment like your soundcard/pc is asking for disaster. You could pull it off succesfully but the downside is just too great.