Newbie in Pro Tools hell

ughh

I really hate computers,

I typed out this message and it disappeared.

anyway... here it is again....

I am really new to the world of computers and digital recording. I downloaded Pro tools free version and although my computer has the minimum requirements, it crashes when ever I try to record a track. I think this is a memory problem and not a software problem. Any other pro tools free users have problems recording with 128MB of RAM, and are there any tricks to squeeze more performance out of the program or the system to make it work. I am going to buy more RAM at some point, but any advice to get me up and running before then is appreciated.

thanks

Amanderthad,

Im running Pro Tools Le software with 128Meg of ram and LE software has a little bit more than free, It's hard for me to answer your question until I know what kind of computer you are running. I'm running a PC, 500MHz PIII overclocked to 633MHz, Delta 44 sound card, CDRW, CD, Zip, Floppy, 13Gig 10,000rpm, dedicated audio hard drive, and my computer never crashes, If you could forward that information someone here with Pro Tools experiance will help you.....

Peace

Carter

Do you have a soundblaster live soundcard?

If so make sure you set the sample rate to 48kHz or PT Free will crash

Actully, the place to go is at the digi site were they have a set space for PTfree and it's problems/fix's.

I don't use the Free version so I don't think I can help.

Thanks

Thanks for the advice.

My system specs

533Mhz PII, YamahaXG(?) sound Card, CDR, CD, Floppy, 15(?) Gig - I am not sure about some of these as I am not to savy