Newbie here, would love some feedcack on acoustic song.

rnelson

Hi Everyone,

This is the first time I've recorded and mixed somebody else's music. I would love to hear what you guys think of the recording and mixing. My friend wrote the song as far as vocals, lyrics, and chords, but I play all instruments (including acoustic guitar, cause his takes were a little shaky) and added all other arrangements other than acoustic guitar. He only sings the song.

Also I'm from latin america, so the lyrics are in spanish, I hope that doesnt bother you guys too much.

It's an acoustic piece with a bit of interesting overdubs.

Let me know what you think. Thanks.

The mix sounds a lot better when I jack up the lower freqs and high freqs, It's thin as it is. And the guitars sound a lot more in-tune when I can hear the bass frequencies.

The vocal is kind of rough. Even by 'world music' standards.

The mix sounds a lot better when I jack up the lower freqs and high freqs, It's thin as it is. And the guitars sound a lot more in-tune when I can hear the bass frequencies.

The vocal is kind of rough. Even by 'world music' standards.

thanks for the feedback guys!

Just curious, what did you mean by too rough? The actual singing, how it was recorded, or that it was mixed pretty dry?

Thanks!

The actual singing performance.
"World" makes it's stamp , often, with rough, folksy ethnic grit. I would say this cat can't sing.

Last edited:
Maybe you're right man, but just wanted to clarify its not supposed to be world music, its just a regular acoustic pop song. It just happens to be in spanish, we have pop music too hahaha.

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

1) somethings busted with the tunings between the guitars. Can't put my finger on it but seems there is a second guitar maybe baritone that is out of tune by a significant amount.

2) need more bass