Newbie here with various questions

NTK88

Whats the best way to get a job at a recording studio? There is a studio near me that offers classes on recording, mixing etc. Its vocational training so I think it would be valid in most other studios right?

Are there actual degrees in producing, recording or mixing?

I hear recording on tape, especially guitar creates a better sound.
I have a 4 track tascam tape recorder. Will this create the same benefits as the 1/2 inch reel to reel tape?

I want to get into recording so that I can record up to 8 mics at once on to their own tracks so I can later mix and edit the drums correctly. What do you think I would need?

Maybe... just a bit of a lot of ground to cover in one shot-- career, life plan, eight vs 1/2", what to eat at lunch after shopping at the GigaGuitarMart... Any whoo.. Welcome to the dance. :)

can you clean toilets and answer phones, and schedule appointments?
will you accept $8 per hour as an acceptable wage?

then you can get hired by a studio :)

TragikRemix said:
can you clean toilets and answer phones, and schedule appointments?
will you accept $8 per hour as an acceptable wage?

then you can get hired by a studio :)

Ha ok well maybe as a temporary job, I am 17 so $8.00 and hr is 50 cents more than my current job :P

How does some one in general get trained to become a producer, mixing engineer, recording engineer etc?

you go out and do it.

formal training will be rediculously expensive. if you really want to do it as a career, there are colleges that are good, but once again, alot of money.

if you want to take courses and just recieve certifications, well, its still rediculous. they want like $10k to be a certified pro tools master in production or post production.

best thing to do, take a couple thousand and invest in a basic setup. just do it, learn as you go like all of us here. maybe try to get an internship at a studio, if you have one locally.