Newb to recording, good startup setup?

JeffDRO

First of all im very new to audio recording. I did a song I did myself with Virtual DJ and a 15 dollar mic and said wow if I can do something like this amagine what I could do with some quality equipment.

Second of all. I love Hip Hop and that is what I want to do... I want to be a rapper, producer and a DJ.

I plan to go to www.mediatechinstitute.com and do their Recording Arts Program which lasts 58 weeks to really learn more about something I love.. Music.

Here is my startup setup that I will be purchasing with some christmas money.

I will be using my computer which I believe is perfect for Sonar8 which I will be using to edit my Music.

PC Setup:
AMD Athalon X2 5800+ 3.0ghz
3GB DDR2
AMD HD 4870 512 Video Card
Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe Motherboard

First off im getting:

Emu 0404 USB 2.0 Audio/MIDI Interface

http://www.zzounds.com/a--2676837/item--EMU0404

For my mic I have decided on:

Audio Technica AT2035 Studio Microphone w/ Mic stand and Stoppit

http://www.zzounds.com/a--2676837/item--AUTAT2035

For studio headset I chose:

Sennheiser HD280 Pro Headphones

http://www.zzounds.com/a--2676837/item--SENHD280PRO

The reason I want the mobile Presonus is because I can take it to a friends house where he has a booth and use it there with my mic. Still the Emu is very good.

I also plan to get some monitor speakers in the near future but thats when I get my studio really going.

What do you all think?

if you want your studio to get going Id get near field monitors in the first place...you wont be able to mix for toffee without them to be honest..