New to recording. What's under $150 that I can record my guitar/mic on? Also,software

crewxp

Hey, I'm new to guitar recording. But I really want to start recording my own tunes. I'm not that great, but I can play good chords and tunes etc, so I was wondering.

Right now I have a $10.00 cable that I bought from Radio-Shack. It converts my guitar plug to a microphone size plug. Then I can plug my guitar or amp into my microphone slot in my Audigy2 soundcard on my computer. But the quality isn't that great on my computer. Especially when I use my amp or distortion.

1.) What kind of hardware can I get that's under $150 that will let me record quality guitar recordings or microphone recordings (if I ever decide to buy one)

2.) What kind of software is good to use to record with? Preferably one with the ability to layer different things. A friend recorded an entire song by himself. Just layered different things he recorded on itself.

3.) Is there some type of virtual-pedal software I can get? Something that will turn my clean guitar sound into something different?

THANKS SO MUCH!!!

I just re-read your post, and that won't record a microphone. . . . . . . . . Crap, I'm not sure what to tell you now.

Regardless I still think it'd be fun to play around with. I've considered buying one myself. You can't buy a new pod for 100 bucks, and even if you could you can't record on a pod. (I love my pod, don't get me wrong).

JazzMasterWil said:
I just re-read your post, and that won't record a microphone. . . . . . . . . Crap, I'm not sure what to tell you now.

Regardless I still think it'd be fun to play around with. I've considered buying one myself. You can't buy a new pod for 100 bucks, and even if you could you can't record on a pod. (I love my pod, don't get me wrong).

Actually you were right the first time...the toneport has a mic input in it's hardware as well.

crewxp said: