New to Home Recording

sparks127

Hello, all
I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I'd like to get your feedback on two mp3's. These are original songs from our band and our 1st and 2nd attempt at home recording. Our initial goal has likely been met which is to record our original songs to a certain quality we're ok with. Now we'd like to take it further and really get much better at our home recordings. Please take a listen and let me know of anything you notice we need to correct or other suggestions. I'm kind of stuck at the moment. Thanks very much!
Our equipment:
Tascam US1800 interface
Sure SM57s - 1 Beta 52a - 2 Samson CO2 condensers
Cubase 5 LE DAW
Third party VST EQ, mastering plugins

Last edited:
Songs about plankton, eh? Why didn't I think of that? :)

In the first, I think either your kick or your bass guitar (or both) are too loud, too bass-heavy, or both. The guitar might even be a bit loud. Sounds like it's causing some distortion. The first thing you might try is reducing the overall recording level and see if that helps, if you like the current sound-per-instrument ratio.

Do you have the panning a little heavy to the left? Wearing headphones, and I think I'm getting most of the kick and the bass guitar from that side, and some cymbals in my right ear. Seems a little unusual.

Music was nice.

Sorry I don't have the answers for the things I've pointed out. I'm new to this myself and I've been learning things piecemeal as my own issues arise. Someone from here will give you a few tweaks that will sharpen this up substantially.

On further review, I'm going to have to suspend my previous comments because I may be having an issue with the sound produced from my computer. Other things I just listened to all had a similar sound to yours, including something I just posted which sounds fine out of my mp3 player.