New guy here needs some help! (please read)

JacksonMan

First off i just want to say i am glad to find such a booming community about home recording. In advance nice to meet you!

I have been reading a lot on home recording lately as i am interested in starting to learn how to record. I have been using acid pro for about 3 years just using loops and trying out all of the cool things acid does. My buddy and i started some what of a "band". Its something we do on the side to just have some fun. The way i have been doing it is using acid pro and using the stock computer mic to record the amp and the drums and the voice. (boo on the mic... i know :() Basically what i have been doing is playing all of the instruments and just recording over them and making them sync perfectly to eventually make a decent song.

My issue:
I am looking to get a little professional with the idea and looking to maybe work on stuff with friends start a new group or do some solo stuff. My main concern is how this will happen. I want to keep the same techniques that i have been doing if possible by using acid pro and recording one track at a time. I am all for looking for a new technique if there is a better way. I just think thats the easiest way for me.

So i have been reading and i am concerned that i have jumped the gun a bit. I spent some good money on some mics and a mixer and a preamp. Recently i read this "class" on what everything really does.

www . tweakheadz . com

I have come to the conclusion that i may have spent money that i did not need to spend. I am also thinking that i may have bought the wrong things for what i want to do.

What I bought:
Behringer Xenyx 1202FX
Now, i honestly don't even know if i need a mixer. I purchased this one because i want the 4 tracks so i can be set for the future.

MAudio-MXL-990991-and-Audio-Buddy-Package