New guitar player, stuck in the learning curve!

barks62

I started playing guitar back in December, and recorded a couple of songs over the past couple of months. I’ve attached both songs (one was posted in mp3 mixing clinic too, sorry for doubling up) for anybody that wants to listen.

I understand a little about chords and chord progressions, but nothing about how to write a good riff. And forget soloing; that’s pretty far off for me right now. Basically, my question is, what should I do to figure out how to write a decent riff? I’m a rock guy at heart, and I really, really want to write some good rock tunes, but when I sit down and plug in my mind goes blank. I end up practicing chords and that’s about it. I try to throw in some random notes sometimes but it all just sounds stupid to me.

Does anybody have any advice about how I can find some creative riffs in my playing? Any ideas would be welcome!

Oh, and feel free to let me know what you think of the tunes! Valentine is very simple but fun to play and, I hope, fun to listen to. The Picture is slightly more complex, and I actually like that one a whole lot.

Thanks all!

Attachments

• 03 The Picture.mp3
    4.9 MB · Views: 10
  • 02 Valentine.mp3
    3.4 MB · Views: 38
You gotta get inspired. You gotta listen to riff based music and get some ideas. If you're into rock, Aerosmith and Guns and Roses are pretty friggin riffy. Deep Purple. Sure, they're dated and old, but so is riff rock.

Play along with music you like and that you want to 'sound like'. Practice practice and more practice. You've been playing for 5 months? Your calluses are still building!

This takes time.

Do you know any scales? Pentatonic maybe?

Listening to what you like and getting inspired is key, yes, but if you don't even know the building blocks to write a riff, nothing great is going to happen.