New fangled recording, grumble grumble...

geekd

I use technology. I'm a software engineer, fer chrissake. But when it comes to music, I'm much more traditional. I'm in a band. We play songs. We play them in the studio exactly the same as we play them live. No loops. No drum replacement. No click tracks.

During the recording phase, I view Pro Tools (my DAW of choice) as a very handy tape machine. No need to rewind, and I can mark my punch in and out points beforehand. Very easy. Huge improvement over actual tape.

During mixing, I'm not against the occasional auto-tuned word here or there on the vocal, and I'm all for it on the back-up vocals. It's great having EQ and compression on each track. I remember the "old days" (in my home studio, that was 2002) when we only had a few EQs and a few compressors, so the tracks they went on had to be important.

Hell, the mere fact that you can save where you are at, and go to bed and take it up again in the morning, without losing your place, is a huge deal.

But.

This incessant vocal auto tune. The "pocketing" of the rhythm section. Drum replacement. Click tracks. I call it the "perfection" of music.

You know what? "Perfect" music is boring as hell. Drum loops suck. If there is not a real drummer on your track, then I don't want to hear it. Real tempo varies. It slows down, speeds up. It has emotion.

"Perfect" vocals have no soul. It's the imperfections that make me feel it. Make me happy, make me sad. Feeling is what music is all about.

Music is audio emotion. Machines can not make emotions. Machines can not feel, and they can not make ME feel. People make emotion. Real, imperfect, people.

Old man rant over.