New article: Using SoundFonts with Sonar

Ethan Winer

Acoustics Expert
Folks,

If you use SONAR, trying to use SoundFonts with a hardware soundcard can be frustrating because SONAR has its own ideas about how SoundFonts should be used. Fortunately, these problems can be solved with just a little ingenuity.

For the full story, see my article at www.prorec.com.

--Ethan Winer

Ethan, very good article but...

Most musician's just wanna play!
They most likely wont take the time to read, and learn and understand alot of what you said.

Have you contacted Cakewalk and let them know how it should be done?
You should if you haven't. Tell them everything that's wrong and the right way to do it.
I think they will (or should) take your advice since you seem to have a very keen knowledge of soundfonts.

Well here's hoping for the best, and thanks for the article.

A1MixMan

MixMan,

> Most musician's just wanna play!

Yes, I realize that. But heck, I'm a musician and it was worth it to me to figure this out, to help me make music more easily. All someone else has to do is follow along! Of course, folks that don't care about these problems can always continue doing what they're doing now. :)

> Have you contacted Cakewalk and let them know how it should be done? <

You bet. Last week I sent them seven pages (!) of bugs and issues, including all the problems with SoundFonts.

--Ethan

Good article Ethan...
It's about time Pro-Rec updated their stories.

I am using soundfonts with Sonar and a SBLive Platinum card. I am very pleased with the results. My band doesn't have a drummer and we usually use drum modules like the D4 or DM-5 when we record albums but I've reached a new level of realism using a great set of Drum Implants. Being able to tweak velocities and applying effects on the soundfont tracks is outstanding too!

Thank you for a really good set of articles Ethan. I enjoyed reading through them all and the step by step approach.