Negative review of the 1600

RyanEmerson

The BOSS BR-1600, has anyone heard any negatives about it? I'm leaning towards it, as I want to upgrade from my 1180.

BOSS 1600

I just purchased a 1600 a week or so ago. I am a total newbie, but have gone through most of the stuff in the last week...MANY late late nights. I generally like it, but it has a few annoying 'features'. The 'mark' names don't appear in a lot of screens where it should (track copy, cut, move....drum arrangements etc) The 'mark' NUMBERS do, but not the names...THIS should be fixed. Also, in the screens where you are selecting FROM and END positions, it has this annoying trait of CHANGING the FROM positions if you accidently set the END position to a spot PRIOR to the FROM position. Obviously you shouldn't say OK in this condition, but the fact that it immediately changes the FROM to match the incorrect END is VERY ANNOYING!!! I would prefer an error if you didn't realize you did this, and then selected GO to. This to me is extremely annoying...you have to be REALLY careful when using the jog dial. This whole thing could ge 'helped' if the mark names were included in the screen. Also, if you forget and have to go back to look at the spots to copy etc, you loose what you put into the From/End slots....Has multiple Undo/Redo layers, but unless you Undo or Redo immediately after, it is impossible to remember WHAT you are undoing redoing. Also it is unclear exatly WHAT fetatures are 'undo-able/redo-able'. for example optimizing, or track normalizing....not sure yet..i have to experiment. It would be nice to copy the track NAME when copying or moving a track. Maybe there are arguments NOT to do that. But I would at least like to START with the name it came from, and change it if I like. I don't see a way to COPY portions of a drum or bass loop. This would be helpful. As is, you can copy the whole thing, then delete portions you don't want. Overall I like it, and it records fine. The UI leaves a little to