Need Sum Help On Sellin Of My Beats..

RelleRell

IGHT!..i kno this probably was asked b4 but i haven't found the direct answer i was seekin soo here goes......

Im a very good amateur producer from philly (yes i considered myself a very good "AMATEUR" producer!!!) and im sellin my beats online.

myspace.com/rellerellproductions (ADD ME...)

I have just started to sell my beats about 7 months ago but stop after 3 months into it. i currently started back up in the past two weeks and now i have a UNSIGNED artist tryin to purchase a beat from me.
.....i somewhat understand the the process of sellin beats like royalties and licensing and publishing...stuff like that!

but after explainin to this artist about all the options on buyin my beats, he replied back that he wanted all exclusive rights, even tho he'll give me credit for the beat....soo i quickly realized that its not right to give ya "rights" away to any artist because they could claim it as they own and i wont get any credit for the beat at all...
this is my first client who wants to buy a beat from me(even tho he doesn't kno it) soo what should i do??...

1.give him the rights and possibly get no credit for the beat?
2.keep the rights and lose my first client if he dont want me to keep them?
3.or firgure out some way for him to almost "share" the rights with me but i keep majority of them??????????? :confused::confused::confused:

Keep your copyrights and give only EXCLUSIVE right to use the beat.

Also, remember if you do a custom beat where the artist tells you what to play and how he wants it, it's a WORK FOR HIRE. In this case you can't copyright it yourself. But, you can sell it as exclusive or charge by the hour for making the beat in the studio. Also, if you give input and ideas, it can be a 50-50 split.

Here is a good thred:

https://homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=232130&highlight=exclusive+rights

Last edited:
nice reply Beats..