Need some help with soundfonts.

sonicpaint

I've never been a fan of midi in recording though the last couple of weeks I've been fooling around with soundfonts with a Soundblaster Live card. Mostly due to finding a easier way of programming and sequencing drums.

I downloaded a few "banks" (I guess their called) along with Vienna to edit them. I was wondering if there was a way that I could take samples from one bank or group of sounds and add them to another or create a new bank using only the samples that I like from the "banks" that I've downloaded?

If this is a newbie question then I apologize but in this regard I am a newbie.....:D

Thanks in advanced.
sonicpaint

Well, off course there is a way to do that. But believe me, it's more complicated than you thought (unless you love sound programming kind of job :D ). I've been there and end up fingding I spent my time more to do the programming than actualy making music. I think it's easier (and save alot of your valuable time) to load them as they are, and select sound you wanted using your sequencer. All you need is big fast RAM... :)

But if you wanna try, then you can follow these links to get more info and tutorial about how to do it...

http://www.computermusic.co.uk/tutorial/soundfont/soundfont.asp

http://www.computermusic.co.uk/tutorial/soundfont/1.asp

and you don't wanna miss this...

http://www.ethanwiner.com/SonarSF2.html

Hope it helps,
;)
Jaymz

I figured it out last night!

Thanks for all the responses! After I posted the question last night I started looking through the help files of Vienna (the soundfont editor for SoundBlaster cards) and found out it's not that difficult at all and it doesn't take that long either. I don't know about other soundfont editors but Vienna works as follows.