Need Help with Choosing Components for Audio PC

Tym Hartwich

Hello everyone!

I am an aspiring recording artist/producer (DAW music + vocals) and I am in the process of putting together a home recording studio.

At the heart of it will be a Windows desktop PC built specifically for making music.

My budget for the PC itself (excluding monitor screen, keyboard, and mouse), is around 1.100 ($1.200).

Now, as I am completely new to the PC building & music production world, I'm wondering about 2 things:

1 ) Is there a guide/website/resource/... that is specifically geared towards helping people put together an audio PC (that you can recommend)?

I've already watched (and worked through) Robin Vincent's "How to build an audio PC" video series and that helped a lot.

BUT, I'm really not trying to leave anything to chance here as that could delay the start of me making music by a lot of time.

2 ) I've put together a preliminary list of components, would you say that it is a good pick?

Motherboard: ASUS Prime Z690-P WIFI 04 LGA 1700 DDR4

Processor: Intel Core i7-12700K 3.6GHz 12-Core Processor

RAM: Corsair 32GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 2666MHz CL16

Power Supply: EVGA 210-GQ-0650-V1 650 GQ, 80+ GOLD 650W

Storage:

1. Western Digital WD_BLACK 4 TB 3.5" 7200 RPM
2. Samsung 980 Pro 1 TB M.2-2280

Cooler: Noctua NH-L9x65

Case: be quiet! SILENT BASE 802

The whole build is sitting around ~$1.100 currently.

Thanks in advance! :)

Hello Tym...and welcome to the forum!

What you've outlined will certainly work...but I have a couple questions. Personally I think it could be a bit of overkill but we don't really know what your overall goal is. Are you planning to have a bussiness or is this for personal use?

Why not an SSD?

Do you have an overall budget for the other equipment you'll need? Mics...Audio Interface....stands....etc...etc...lots of stuff.

What DAW will you be using?

We can help you best by having more detail about your plans.

Mick

Last edited: