Need help with a preamp and compressor selection.

Jackrip

Alright well, I am a hiphop artist, and I am just going to be recording vocals, and I have a Groove Tubes GT 55 Condenser Mic, and I got the Tascam US-122 soundcard.

I actually had the PreSonus Tubepre at one point, but return it got a all in one unit(preamp, compressor and eq) but I am quickly realizing that the all in one units arent as good as seperate units.

I was just gonna go out and get the PreSonus tubepre again, but I was searching the internet and found out about the Studio Projects VTB-1. I know that the PreSonus is proven, and I can vouche for it, but I heard nothing but good thing about the VTB-1. In the reviews of the tubepre, some people even said to get the VTB-1 instead. I am torn, which one should I go for? I am looking for clear and crisp vocals with some thickness to them.

Now about the compressor, I heard goods things about the Alesis 3630, but its two channels and all I really need is one, but if its the best at the price I might just get it regardless, is there one like it with one channel? or any recommendations on a good compressor around the price of the Alesis 3630?

Would you rather have two channels of decent, or one channel of shit on a stick?

And if you haven't heard of the RNC, then you might try typing the following term in to this thing we call the search function: RNC

Good luck.

chessrock, you've mentioned in previous threads that you've used the MIndprint Envoice MkII. I just picked one up and I can't say enough good things about it. Is it just a well-kept secret or what... why not more buzz about the Envoice? I think it sounds fantastic.

BTW-I didn't get the DI-MOD add-on, just running it analog into my soundcard (E-MU 1616m).

David Katauskas said:
The M-Audio Tampa is a preamp with a compressor built in...me likey. :)
You need to shave, dude..... :D