Need help purchasing soundcard/midi equipment

agapetos

Hi everyone,

delighted to see there is such a forum as this!!

Ok, I have been playing around with music and recordings for many years but never really in a serious way.

I have a roland V drum kit, a great pc with tons of memory and speed, got speakers, Monitors and mixers.....
However, a long time musician friend of mine now is inviting me in and wants me to play drums on his albums.

So, my built in soundcard is not enough, I need minimum 24 bit AND most importantly I need to get past
my eternal MIDI nightmare which always is latency, non working equipment because I purchased to cheap
like a $5 usb to midi cable and so on. I hate MIDI because I dont understand it. I do sound at conferences
and can easily do any normal audio PA equipment but when I touch MIDI I turn 2 years old hehehe

Sry for the wordiness but I needed to lay down my story first.

So on my Roland TD-6 module I have MIDI in and out. I was hoping to be able to get some good suggestions
on maybe a sound card with Midi in and out or...in the past I had a audio card sound blaster with a sound control
for front controls on pc and a small mixer attached......I am willing to purchase protools if thats the best.

Right now my biggest issue is adding a drum track through multitracking in adobe audition cs6 and as far as what the tech
support was able to explain to me it doesnt accept MIDI.....when I record I play my friends track and play directly along
with it but the latency is throwing me off badly and it is time to upgrade and get something worthwhile to make MIDI and analog
recording more hassle free.

So how do I go about this...any recommendations?

I hope I am not too "all over the place" and some what clear on what I want?

Thanks in advance for any guidelines to some equipment.

I also record my 12 stringed through my mixer and mikes and for some reason I havent had any latency
issues with that....maybe it is my Drum Module output?