need help on this song/mix

hey, i put up a new song on soundclick called grooveville

grooveville

and i'm uncertain about the mix, this might sound just a little too dark. any opinions? vocals have to be added and would require a remix.

very hard to find a good singer btw

I think it sounds pretty good. To me, the bass could come up a little in the mix, as there seems to be space for it, but that would be the only thing I would try at this time. It's just a bit quiet compared to the guitars.

I do like the drony feel to it, and the sounds are pretty cool. Interesting tune.

Ditto the bass. But I'm a bassist. Byased...biased,,whatever.

..I've got a sneakin' suspicion that vocals are gonna matter in this song. :)

cheers dogman and jouni. funny enough the bass was the one element i was most uncertain of, i couldn't make up my mind about having it sit in the background or up front.

here's a remix

grooveville

i raised the level on the bass and also made the drums a tad brighter.

faderbug said:
cheers dogman and jouni. funny enough the bass was the one element i was most uncertain of, i couldn't make up my mind about having it sit in the background or up front.

here's a remix

grooveville

i raised the level on the bass and also made the drums a tad brighter.
I like the remix better...the drony bass gives it a cool vibe, and teh crisper drums fill out a bit more of the sound. Vox will probably change what you do with this mix, but right now, the levels seem pretty good and even.