Need Help On Mastering, Guys..

D-Gravity

Officially~> Yo-DHA
hey people, im a newB for sure. i learnt makin beats and stuff and some editing works, using softwares like fl studio and soundforge. not yet started nuendo though i have it(still affraid..hehe) but i m not yet there in my mastering works for my songs. Often the song i make crosses the 0.0db mark. so when using fl studio, how can i make my mastering better? and aslo could you tell me how to use the compressor? what s the best softare to make a well mastered song?.... hope you ll will reply.. peace

Last edited:
You have a $3,000 program that you're "afraid" to use (??!!??!?) -

You don't even know the very, very most basic fundamental techniques for mixing -

You don't understand the very most basic principles of gain staging -

You don't understand how to use a compressor -

And you're asking about *mastering* already?

I'm thinking you should just stop everything you're doing and get a couple books on basic recording fundmentals before you do anything else. Work on tracking and mixing for a few years. Then start worrying about what you do *after* you finish the mixes.

I agree. The earlier in the process you go, the more important quality is, beginning with the performance, then the room you're in, then the signal chain. If all of these things are great, your tracks will be good and mixing will be better. And mixing is what you should worry about, not mastering. Take fl for example. Set the levels, pan, and eq for each instrument for a few days until you get a nice balance (use the 7-band eq in the effects view). Get good at this, get contropl of your levels. Don't worry about compressino until you're tracking vocals.

D-Gravity said: