need help on frequency sweeping

LordSire

of course im new to this. So i havent gotten a complete grasp on hearing sounds and placing the frequency ranges they fall in. I've heard and understand about the technique of sweeping an eq to find certain frequencies, such as for removing sibilance( S sounds).

The problem im having is i havent yet figured out what range of frequency my voice falls in. Is there a possibility to find this out through eq sweeping? And exactly what is it that i should be listening for? Am i listening for a volume change, or some other specific sign that will aid me in saying "there it is! That's my frequency."

And as a question in general: Whenever im sweeping, for whatever sound in question, do i raise a couple of dbs on the eq, or lower, before i start sweeping? And does it really depend on the sound that im working with at that time?

Any and all responses will be greatly appreciated. And if need be, i think i have some old work that i can post, if someone just wants to give a listen and let me know what my vocal frequency is. I would appreciate that as well. ;) . I'm on someone elses computer right now, so i wont be able to post something until later this evening, but ill make sure i do.

I think you need a little better understanding of how eq adjustments are used. The idea is not to sweep around and say "hey, there's my voice". The only source that will have a single frequency is a sine wave, which you won't be using much. The frequencies you will want to adjust are ones that conflict with other material in the mix. For example, you may need to adjust eq on a voice and/or guitar in order to get them out of each other's way. Therefore, you may not even adjust your own voice the same way song to song.