Need Help Identifying the Mic/Audio Problem (Digital Streaming)

NotAnEngineer44

Hello all! I don't know where to turn for help with figuring out what's wrong with the audio of a couple of my Live hosts. Maybe it could be a fun or simple case that you can save me with? You hero you

I'm a producer for a mobile app company that utilizes live voice hosts, streaming audio through microphones connected via USB. (My producing experience is through general acting/hosting, not so much voice.) I am able to produce well controlled audio myself, but there are a few hosts with some audio problems and I don't know how to address the problem or fix. I've attached samples:

https://drive.google.com/drive/u/0/folders/1u_23Il4UGH95QWeTULqe5bwV9vto-UWK (attached as Forum Test Audio 1)
This host claims to have the same static/popping problem regardless of their mic used. Is this a connectivity issue? (we live stream). Mic issues? Wiring issue?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/12TR2o8pMecdYvjOJrTnvz7qYWaJg_jyd/view?usp=sharing (attached as Forum Audio 2)
This host has a weird buzzing with her primary mic and has had to switch to an inferior backup because of this clicking

Thank you all in advance! Please kindly direct me to a different sub if I'm in the wrong place. You're an incredible human being

Attachments

• Forum Test Audio 1.mp3
    290.9 KB
  • Forum Audio 2-Buzzing.mp3
    446.2 KB
Last edited:
The second one sounds like it might be phone interference. Could be the mic/cable, "superior" or not. Clicking like the first is often some kind of resource issue - trying to push more data across some kind of channel, wired or wireless, than it has bandwidth for, so bits and bytes get dropped. A slow disk on a resource constrained system, where its trying to swap memory-to-disk and vv can also introduce clicks, so the usual optimizations around shutting down everything non-essential, even a/v services, etc. might give the system more breathing room.