Need Help Asap!! Please..

JesusFreak

Hello Everyone,

I'm in great need of your guys's and gals opinion's as quickly as possible because in about.....6 hours, I'm going to be laying down about $3600 on gear.

My question is on monitors...now I did use the search engine and did find some pretty good info but considering I'm on a tight time schedule, I didn't have time to sort through all the 16 pages of info so I do sincerely appologize if my specific issue has been covered previously as it is not my desire to make anyone waste thier time.

This studio that I'm building is the first one I've ever done. I've never bought gear before so when it comes to monitors, I have no experience in what sounds like what. I had heard good things about the Yorkville YSM1p's and was pretty set on them. The guitar center in my area doesn't order yorkvilles and they suggested a set of JBL LSR25p. Again, not knowing how to compare them, I don't know which set would be better for a more accurate sound.

So I guess my question would be, for those that have heard both, which set would you recommend. I can order the York's online if I need to so I would like to know before I go and buy the JBL's.

Thanks guys!

God Bless!

If the will let you return the JBL's if you dont like them go for it. Monitors, like mics, are a very subjective thing. Truth be known you can probably make good mixes on any decent monitors the same way you could make good recordings with any decent mic. The only question is will they work well for you and only you can decide that.

JBL is a good brand and they definately wont be crap. You will have to decide if they are perfect for you or not. Of course I still use NS10Ms so what do I know?

Hey Tex,

Thanks alot for your reply. They do have a 30 day return policy so I guess there is some cushion for me. My only concern about that is that it will probably take me 30 days just to get enough stuff down to figure out if they sound good or not anyway :).