Need advice of a Pre-amp for Acoustic & Vocals

TrainUnderWater

Hey all. Having some trouble sifting through the hundreds of different pre amps to find the right one for what I'm doing. I bought a Rode NT-1 condenser to get some proper recordings done and realised my mixer didn't have phantom power.

So I need an audio interface/Pre-amp.

I was recommended an alesis for about £110, but it scored very badly in some reviews (http://www.zzounds.com/a--2676837/productreview--ALEIO2) My budget is really about £150, it shouldn't have been so high (the Rode + stand was £145) but I'm hoping these purchases are long-term investments.

So could anyone recommend something to partner my Rode NT-1a within this price range of £110-150?

I know there will be a variety of options. I'm just starting out and don't have the strongest of voices - I could show a recording to anyone really keen to help me.

The quality I want really is mp3s or recordings gut enough to put on a myspace page/youtube whatever I desire. Basically needs to be good enough to get away with to eventually make a CD. Any ideas?

Gak.co.uk is the retailer I usually use.

In that price bracket, I'd just get a DMP-3 and call it a day. The extra channel will let you separately mic your guitar and voice (or stereo track your guitar) once you get another mic (and you will want to get another mic, it's a disease):D

thanks. It's a little high for my budget (bout 20 pounds over) but it seems great. will be over £170 to get it delivered to me.

If anyone else can reassure me, no doubt I'll fork out if it means I'm going to notice the difference between 140-150 and 170. :eek:

I wonder also, if I string my guitar with the fabled elixir nanowebs will I suffer any recording quality or tuning difficulty, I heard someone here saying the strings sound out of tune when recorded? Or am I completely mistaken, it sounds silly to me :O