name that effect....if you can

sdp530

Hey, I have been mixing hip hop vocals for a couple years now and there is a certain effect that I am trying to recreate. Its kinda hard to explain but a lot of the mainstream rap has it. It sounds almost like the lead vocal is over processed, it sounds like there is some sort of light grain distortion applied to it....let me know if you have heard what I am hearing and how that could be recreated...thanks.
-C

A sample would help, especially for those of us who don't listen to hip hop. ;)

A lot of the westcoast mainstream rap has it like Dre, 50 cent.....someone mentioned it might be a vocoder but its a very suttle sound, almost like a clean distortion if that makes any since, haha
-C

maybe a shit load of compression? i doubt it would be a vocoder. I pretty sure its just realy good enginnering at the end of the day, i to find it hard to get what i hear on records in my own recording.

i'm not into hip hop, but something very typical seems to be the double-tracking of the vocals. maybe even do 4 or 6 or whatever takes. of course the rapper has to be quite tight then.

and then i'd compress the hell out of it, as mentioned before. you might also distort only one of the tracks so you still got the clean vocals. mix to taste.

Possibly extremely tight double tracking? I've heard a lot of what I guess is that. One that sticks out to me is Eminem in 'the way I am'. Sounds very processed. But I often mistake that sound for autotune because double tracking, like autotune, is, so I hear, another method for fixing crap pop singers like Britney. Where they overlay someone who actually can sing with her godforsaken voice.

I don't know if the above paragraph makes sense. I don't know if I'm wording it too well

My reference to crap pop singers has no relation to my opinion of hip hop BTW, which I actually kinda like. As long as it's good stuff obviously.