My very first recording with Mixcraft 6 (Please be gentle on me)

55Dudester

Well, here I am with my first recording using Mixcraft 6. I have never done any recording before, so please, don't bash me too hard. :facepalm:
I'm new to this sort of thing and I have no experience in home recording, natta, zip, elzero, if fact, I'm not quite sure how I went about recording this. I just pressed a bunch of buttons in Mixcraft till it sounded good enough to keep the dog from howling.
I am very open to suggestions and constructive criticism.
Thanks for listening.
Ray

Attachments

• 3 Wooden Crosses.mp3
    4.6 MB · Views: 37
Last edited:
I'm not able to upload my recording via this forum. How do I upload from SoundCloud ?
Thanks
Ray

Last edited:
Duly noted Bill, I did lower the reverb quite a bit, however, I never did like my voice too dry. I'll pull up the song again, and play with various effect settings again. Thanks for the listen.
Later
Ray

I like it. Sounds like a bit too much reverb for me but hey first recording =)

Definately man, I'm happy you got it all going. It sounded like you were pretty far away from the mic (that could have just been the reverb) but I find I get a little clearer sound when I turn the mic gain down a little and get closer to the mic. Usually I try and go between all the words/verses/chorus and chop out the empty space where there are pauses so you get rid of a little background sound. You can also at the bottom do a noise reduction but I've never been a fan of how mixcraft does it.

Tons of things to play with there though, just messing with the EQ can almost completely change the sound.

It sounds great to me. Is that you performing and what gear did you use? Sounds very smooth but maybe a bit distant.

Dont try to hide that great voice behind a long reverb. its nice smooth n lovely.