My latest tune - I've lost all objectivity

Im not an expert on recording...Im somewhat new to recording...overall the mix isnt to bad...the vocals sound pretty good although the vocals seemed a bit to loud in some spots.

The drums sound pretty good however they may have a bit to much bottom end/bass.

The bass sounds good.

The guitar parts are ok...they were played pretty good however the guitar could probably be more up front...Im not to crazy about the distortion sound...its to fuzzy for my taste however it might be what others like or perhaps thats the type of sound you like in which case you could keep it however I think this song would sound better with more of a less fuzzy distortion and perhaps a cleaner overdrive sound would sound better.

I like the song though...the vocals are nice.

"When she laughs" part is the part where the vocals may be a bit to loud however you might of done that on purpose to make them sound different.

Nice Job

Thanks for the feedback D_Vincent.

To your point about the Drums and the low end being a bit too much, I think you are right. I tend to be a bit heavy handed around 80hz.

The vocals are louder in the chorus part. Mainly as I bring in 5 tracks of backing vocals to fill it out. I'll try backing that down with some automation.

The guitar sound, is the only thing you mentioned that, outside of some high pass eq, that I didn't tweak with at all. As I listen back to distorted track, I think you are on to something. Great items to think about. Looks like another lost weekend of mixing ahead.

Thanks again for listening and for your feedback. I'd give you some rep points, but I can figure out how.

very good song and well executed. i agree with the overdrive comment. i think a smooth overdrive maybe doubled would sound great. or panned with overdrive on one side and a slightly fuzzier tone on the other. i can't comment a whole lot on freqs or anything cause i'm using headphones to listen but good song man.