my acoustic panel plans... (diagram included, comments appreciated)

braden_

panels0001.jpg

i've been talking about building panels for 3 1/2 years and now with tax returns coming i'm finally going to do it!

so basically it's going to fold in on itself like an armoir or cupboard doors would when i'm not using it. i think i'm going to build 2 of them.

my questions, to those who feel inspired to answer:
what options other than burlap do i have for material? i'm not sure i want to use burlap...
and is it bad to have a wood backing on panels that i would spray glue the fiberglass to? or do people generally just adhere them to the sides of the frame? (since they could conceivably be closed for a considerable amount of time, want them to look kind of nice, you know?)
if it's bad, i'll have to find some way to brace the panels in the frames, because i like the look of a stained frame with the fiberglass wrapped inside, rather than the cloth wrapping over the framing entirely)

what do you guys think? =)

I use cotton for mine, much cleaner looking IMO.

Kind of confused on what you mean as far as wrapping them. Either way is fine though, you can just glue the insulation to the inside of the frame or you can put small braces in the corners of the frames to keep the insulation forward. It may not happen short term, but long term the insulation may start to sag if there's nothing supporting it, doesn't have to be a full wood backing, but something needs to be keeping it from falling down and out of the back if you leave an air gap.

as in just wrapping the fiberglass itself to hold in the fibers as opposed to wrapping the cloth around the fiberglass AND the wood.

there will be air gap, this is a freestanding setup, won't be hanging on the walls.

and cotton, just like sheet fabric? works just fine?