MXL603 female vocals... nice!

bleyrad

Check this.

Lucy Smith

Just recorded this girl today. First take. Did about 5 minutes of mixing (just a touch of compression and that ridiculous but damned impressive LOTR-type reverb.)
I had an inkling that this mic might be good on female vocals. I wasn't dissapointed.

So, anyone else out there that wants a reasonably impressive female vocal sound with a cheap mic they already own, don't skip over the MXL603 just because it's SD. Maybe I could have even charged more than $8/hour (CDN), but hey, it's my first time charging for recording.

Would that be a stereo recording? Or just with one of them?

I was considering a pair for instruments and accoustic guitar and stuff like that. It's nice to know it can do a double duty on vocals.

Wow that does sound really good i just listened.

I haven't listened on headphones, but on these multimedia speakers it doesn't sound like too much reverb. But i can't accuratly say.

But it sounds awesome. What was your signal chain? Soundcard and preamp and stuff.

Mackie 1604VLZ (not pro) -> MOTU 1224 (24 bit 44Khz)

She wanted that much reverb on this particular song. Actually, she wanted more, but I convinced her to get away with less. It's a LOTR song, and of course there's even more reverb than that on the original.
It sounded like a lot on my YSM1's, but listening on other speakers, it sounds like way less reverb than I thought I had put on there. I guess that's what happens when you have a wide, clear stereo field in a nearly-dead room.

DOPE!
Haha.
But yea that is awesome. Recording quality/performance i mean. Both are great. That is leaning me even more towards the mxl 603's

How do you find they perform on other sources? Ever use them as a stereo pair, or on accoustic guitar?

yeah, they sounded ok, not great. but that is probably mostly due to my cheap guitars.