Multi-track cassettes???

trag-o-caster

Is there any talk about them being done away with??? Are they still selling well enough for TASCAM and others to keep making them? I certainly hope so! I actually quite like them for home demos. I'm not a techie, and don't have the time to immerse myself in phone book sized users manual that seems to be the norm for the digital recording gear that I've ran across. If you're not concerned with state of the art sound quality, and just want that instant gratification, multitrack cassettes are hard to beat!

I personally like the sound of the cassette machines - but I'm the kind of guy that sits around listening to bootlegs, and old 78's from the 20's so what do I know about sound quality?!?

I'm not an official spokesman for anyone but myself. I disagree. I'm of the belief that cassette is dead, in terms of Tascam anyway. I believe the last of the cassette based Portastudios have already been produced, and the ones for sale now are "use-til-gone", discontinued stock items. Get in on multitrack cassette while you can still can get the new-in-box item from retailers. Before long, those retailers will stop offering them, and you'll be funnelled into the Ebay used-gear market.

That is, if it's anything to'ya.

I started in '82 on the Tascam 244, & skipped over everything 'til the '97 424mkII. Then, I went on a binge playing catch up, going to Ebay for everything else I missed, including: The Porta One, the 246, the 234, and the 238. I did, however, also score the new-in-box 424mkIII, retail. Cassette multitrack is special. Tascam, and everyone else, has abandoned the cassette multitracker, for greener pastures, it seems.