monster power?surge protectors

antman

i got a monster power pro 2000 but i thought these things were suppose to keep 120 volts going through all the time......cause i notice my speakers get real hissy when it drops to like 114 volts...whats the deal?

i've been a tech for a long time and.... i dont know of anything that would account for this.... the truth is while a stabile 120V is cool to have.... most of us experience little or no change over our somewhat stable 110-120 averaging power IMO where those things can make a diff is in other areas... like tying all the grnds togeter and supressing spurious noises... are ya sure you're not wanting to hear it somehow???

I may be wrong, but from the specs it looks like that thing is designed to protect against surges, not dips or brown-outs. For that you'd need a UPS, I would have thought.

Exactly, two completely different ideas. Surge suppressors usually have a SAD and/or MOV device to shunt the surge to ground. Some sytems self sacrifice to protec the load from transients. Power regulation is a completely different concept.

No you would want voltage stabi:eek:lizer like the furman AR-15, UPS is different as well although some do both UPS is uninterruptable power supply and works like a battery so that you do not loose power, if you are getting a hissing noise over change in voltage it would more often than not be a result of any digital pieces being in the signal path like fx and so on as they are not as tollerant to low voltage situations. The Monster has power filtering and surge suppression only. Also relatively stable voltage still varies some so anywhere from 110-124 is normal to see. If its dropping down you may be drawing too much current from the circuit to begin with.

oh so if i had a ups that would not happen.........hmm maybe i look into one