Monitors - sorry to be cheap, but I need some advice

normington

Hi,

Yes, I am aware that I'll likely be shot a few times on this thread for even mentioning the concept of holding back on how much I spend on monitors, but I'm going to ask anyway. I'm a student, I'm very, very skint, and I'm wondering where the next small amount of cash I find should go. I do have access at study places to decent Tannoy monitors, but I'd like it if I could do some more involved mixing at home.

Currently, my main set of speakers (just for multimedia) are a 5.1 set of Creative Inspire T6100's. They have a nice sound, but I'm aware that they're probably not flat enough to mix on.

I'm looking to spend sub-£100, and I know that some people will see that as a stupid thing to do, but my angle is that I can always go elsewhere to tweak my mixes following a home session, and I'm in an untreated room, and I ask myself the question - do I really need top-quality professional standard monitors in my current situation?

Now, where to go from here. Firstly, will I get any notable increase in quality/detail from sub-£100 monitors, over the Creative set that I already have?

If so, I'm currently deciding between two sets, Behringer MS40's and M-Audio Studiophile AV 40's. They're both 4" cones, 20W per side, active. Any advice as to which pair might have the edge over the other? Any other model suggestions to be made?

Thanks very much, I really appreciate your advice.

Andy

yeah, you could probably see an improvement over the computer speakers with sub 100 pound monitors, but I gotta repeat the mantra...

I, like you, resisted the advice about monitors. Just in the last month or so (after a couple of years of getting back into this stuff) I picked up a decent pair, and had to hit myself in the head for waiting so long.