Monitors for final mixing

pinkieandtherev

OK, so I'm still a relative newbie to recording. I don't have a LOT of extra cash right now...I'm presently unemployed. I'm trying to get my album done while I have the time to work on it.

I don't own a pair of studio monitors. Probably the best sounding speakers I have are my Technics 3-way home stereo speakers. I could do most of the final mix on headphones, but even there...

Any suggestions for inexpensive monitoring solutions, either speakers or headphones? Also suggestions for amplifiers. I know that most commercial PA gear is said to "color" the sound, so I'd be looking for a more transparent amp for monitors.

I have heard a few people say that you should not do mixing in headphones because it will not come out the right way. While it is possible, it will most likely make what you thought sound perfect sound off.

If you are on a budget and you are unemployed, then headphones are probably what you need to settle for. It is true that mixing with high quality monitors will get you better results than mixing through headphones, but there is every likelihood that mixing through headphones will get you better results than through poor speakers.

Wander down to your local headphone shop, try out a few and check out the price of those that sound best for you.

Look also at sets of powered monitors. Have a listen to them and see what you think. Take along one of your favourite CDs to check them out.

What defines poor speakers, though? What is the primary difference between a pair of studio monitors and a pair of commercial speakers? I have several pairs of PA-type speakers available, ranging from the humongous Peavey SP-2s down to the little Peavey Tri-Flexes that are roughly the SIZE of typical studio monitors (1" tweeter, 6.5" woofer), and a couple of pairs of nice home speakers (the Technics 3-ways I mentioned earlier being my primary stereo listening pair.)