mixing my two piece band

hardcore guy

I'm in a synth/drums two piece. We play very loud in a style similar to Lightning Bolt (http://www.myspace.com/laserbeast). I am pretty new at recording, although I'm trying to learn everything I possibly can. Over the last few months, we recorded a few tracks into my Aardvark q10 using adobe audition. All my indivual tracks sound pretty great but I have been struggling with mixing, some songs are harder than others seeing as how they were all recorded at different times, often in different rooms with different mic placements.

Basically my trouble is this, I can get all the drums together to sound good, I can get the synth alone to sound great, but once I add them together, everything gets muddy and a lot of things get drowned out. I figured this must be because I'm over crowding certain frequencies. It has become especially hard due to the fact that the synth is used to provide all highs and lows (outside of drums) in the mix. Any advice on clearing things up by cleaver eqing would be greatly appreciated.

You can hear one bad quality mp3 at our myspace to get an idea of our sound: www.myspace.com/theycallmegreyhound . I don't need to hear that the snare is too ringy, I like it that way. And I don't need to hear that the drumming isn't always on time, it doesn't matter nearly as much to us as rocking out, playing loud and having a good time. Punk ethics I suppose.

I should also specify that the main problem I'm having is the low end from the synth, drowning out the sound of the kick and toms. Although the kick won't come back out unless I boost the midrange instead of the lows around 80-100hz and then the tone is pretty poor. The tone of the synth also is lacking without taking space in those frequencies. Is there any way the two can co-exist peacefully?