Mixing my toms: gate? manual edit?...?

Drumz519

So, I'm back home from college for the summer and I've got my kit setup and mic'd for some serious recording in my basement space. I'm very happy with the sound of things so far but I have a question about my toms.

When I'm not playing the toms, there is a sympathetic resonance that they pic up from the rest of the kit and it comes through on the mix. Now, I've heard that this can bring more character to the kit but it's not helping in this case; it's just a constant drone. Now, I've experimented with gating them (though I'm a noob to gates/expanders) and it works well until the gate kicks in after a tom fill and there's a sudden emptyness where the toms were. I've also tried cutting up the tracks so I pull out sections when the toms aren't being played. This has worked better but I still think there has to be a better answer out there that I've yet to come across. Maybe light muffling?

Here are some basic stats of what I'm working with:
Remo Pintripe heads without muffling
SM57 mic on each tom (45 degree angle, 1-2" above the head, aimed towards center)
Pro Tools M-Powered 7.1 recording software with stock plugins

Thanks for any help!

Manual edits work best for me. A major PITA, but ultimately it saves time over fiddling with expanders/gates repeatedly during mixing.

Drumz519 said:
Now, I've experimented with gating them (though I'm a noob to gates/expanders) and it works well until the gate kicks in after a tom fill and there's a sudden emptyness where the toms were.

Then your tom tracks are too loud in relation to the overheads. You need to find the right mix.

Massive Master said:
Retuning or light muffling is my first line of defense. The "flapper" is always a nice thing...
Can you describe this "flapper" consept for me? I've heard of some people putting cotton balls in their toms (especially the floor tom) as kind of an acoustic gate. Maybe I'll have that a shot.