Mixing moral dilemma

starch

I just finished mixing a 10 song cd for a person and gave it to him to proof before the premaster is made. I felt really good about the work that was done and the final product. He is the lead guitar player and plays acoustic guitar and has found others to play for this project. The songs are all original and are his so I am basically mixing this for him.

He came back asking for some changes that I feel are very wrong for the project. He has no formal (or informal) training on music, acoustics, audio engineering, etc, but is a very decent self-taught vocalist and mediocre guitar player. The changes he is asking me to make will cause things like the mix balance to be way off, the mix to be overcrowded, his vocals to be wet with fx to the point of unintelligibility, etc.

I ultimately feel like I need to give him what he wants and have tried to explain problems related to his suggestions, but also know that I will not feel good about making the changes he is asking for, and would feel the product would reflect poorly on me as a mixing engineer.

Anybody have any suggestions on how to handle this?

Thx,
starch

I know how you feel, however, if it's his record, do what ever he wants. You've already given him what you think sounds good. Give him just what he asked for and let hm hear it side by side.