Mixing Help- New Folk/Rock Album

whirlwindRA

Hello everyone... I have been working with audio for a few years now, and this is my second album project that I've worked on. Both projects were for bands that I am a part of. The first band was Another Step Further in case you're curious. This new one is a bit different, with some Mumford and folk influence, and we're called A Palinode.

Anyway, I've been working on mixing the whole album since August and am very pleased with it so far. We are probably going to release it within the month. However, there are some things in the mix that continue to annoy me (it may just be me...). There's a mild degree of mastering applied already, but it's not the final product yet. I've attached a preview of the very last song, probably one of my most favorite moments of the album. It'd be great if you could give feedback regarding the individual instruments and the entire mix as a whole. While I'd like to make it as best as possible, I'm not in a position to tear the entire thing down and start over, as time is at a close here.

Thanks in advance! Let me know if you'd like to hear more!

Original upload:
[MP3]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/54393172/BGC%20sample.mp3[/MP3]

Revised:
[MP3]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/54393172/BGC%20test3.mp3[/MP3]

Revised 2:
[MP3]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/54393172/BGC%20test6.mp3[/MP3]

Last edited:
The violin feels like it's leaning too far right in the mix (and the left seems too light with only the acoustic occupying the space there).

The kick and snare sound mushy and don't quite punch through (I realize this isn't metal). You might be able to EQ the kick and snare for more presence. Listening again it sounds to me like there might be too much or the wrong reverb for the drums. It may be too much of a hall effect.

The bass guitar is lost somewhere in the mix, might be able to just fix that by bringing it up... (?)